Orange, Yellow and Blue

I didn’t end up going to HomePlus after school. It wasn’t before long I felt really tired and my body felt it all–from the hike and today’s run. It was raining and I didn’t feel like taking my bike any further than it had to go. Now, I’m at home watching a CGI version of Beowulf. The characters weren’t as creepy looking as that of the young Jeff Bridges in Tron: Legacy.  At school, Brandi invited me to see a movie on the weekend. Movies on my next to see list: Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides and Kung Fu Panda 2.

Kindergarten: Classes went great with Lemons, Cherries and Kiwis but I was a little stressed that the Apples [oldest kindergarten students] continued to act up, even though I waved shiny stickers at them. But one team just really messed up…I’m not sure if they’ll all get stickers this week, but I’m hopeful–today’s only Monday. It seems to me team projects work best with them. I just have to keep coming up with ideas for the rest of the week and semester. The material needs to be more challenging for them. Perhaps some classes on  where animals come from–teach them about the continents–different species of birds that kind of thing  and find some cool projects to make an animal safari or something until we move to the next level of our program which I’m sure we’ll stay on for more than a month. I’m going to do my best to make sure they learn everything they can based on the theme

I’m not sure why our school  doesn’t buy level five of our program–it’s what I should have  started teaching at the beginning of the new semester, but  I’ll  have to do whats needed to do make sure they learn more from the level even if it takes more of my time to gather information and make it a fun, engaging lesson.

Elementary: My first class made me so angry. I was fuming at the end. The boys don’t listen. I showed them the gift box full of cool prizes to be had at the end of Friday and it didn’t help the group of four who always act up–I know they’re good kids. I think it’s time for better idea that really hones in–I’m the teacher, I want to help them learn and they should care about their progress in class. There’s got to be a way! More things to search for online…

My other classes went pretty well.  I think my whole attitude changed after I started my second class. But out of the day, my last class [and oldest in age] was fantastic. I was so proud of them. They really earned their stickers. If they keep it up, they’ll earn certificates for most well-behaved kids at school. I’ll have to find a reward template online tomorrow.

Well, that was my day. I have a lot of things to do and look for tomorrow–my eyes are set on half tomorrow and half on Thursday.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments Off on Orange, Yellow and Blue

Filed under Life

Comments are closed.